Gay Muslims, what do we say?

Standard

Now this topic came up the other day while I was sitting with a group of sisters.  And it seemed the answer was not to immediatley say, ‘ASTAGFIRULLAH, you can’t be gay and muslim!’

Now I ain’t no expert but this topic has come up many times and I believe that the best advice to offer is for one focus on why you are a muslim, not what it takes to be a muslim.  The question why I am a muslim only leads one to understand the 5 most important things.  As Prophet Muhammed (Peace be upon him) said, ‘Islam is built upon five’.

To be a muslim you must:

Testify there is no God worthy of worship except Allah and Prophet Muhammed (SAW) is the last Prophet.

Secondly to pray 5 times a day

Thirdly to give Zakat (charity if able)

Fourth to fast in the month of Ramadan

Fifth to go on a pilgramage to Meccah (if you can afford it)

One can only acquire these things by taking time out to read and become certain and firm in these pillars.

Eemaan (Faith) is the testification of the tongue, limbs and heart.  The heart governs both the tongue and the limbs, so once knowledge has been gained something will begin to happen God Willing.

The person will grow to Love Allah and naturally be inclined to follow what is commanded.

Everyone has their tests, whether it be alcohol, money or their sexual appetite.  But we can only get stronger in obeying the commands of our Lord if we know our Lord.

 

About iamshalina

http://iamshalin5.wix.com/iamshalina Shalina Litt was in the music business from the age of 15 years old and it wasn't until around 2006 that life took a big turn for her. She graduated with a BA Hons in Early Childhood Studies eager to do right by my son. Around 2006 she embraced Islam and took on a calmer lifestyle getting married and focusing on being a mother alongside a business woman. Her marriage dissolved due to domestic Violence in 2009 and she retook a different path learning how to rebuild my self esteem and confidence. This journey allowed Shalina to share her growth via blogs and vlogs building a large following around the topic of abuse. Around 2011 her career as a Radio Presenter at Unity FM began. As her confidence grew, she decided to speak out in international media defending the rights of Women and Hijab. This lead her to successfully be present in Media covering newspaper, TV, Radio and Magazines in addition to have been in a successful documentary done about 6 Muslim women from around the world by a TV Production Team (NRL) from the Netherlands. This public platform allowed her to be vocal about various heart felt topics through Social media and other broadcasting opportunities. As a result Shalina now coaches women around the topic of Abuse Resolution. She continues to appear in mainstream media discussing various topics around Islam and women. She also runs her own business providing Inclusive Islamic Education for SEND Children. She is currently recording an album and writing a book, both due to be released in 2017 God Willing. For more details or to contact Shalina Litt email iamshalina@live.co.uk

7 responses »

  1. What if you believe in Allah, pray or meditate in your own way, give to charity, can’t fast because one is ill or diabetic and can’t go to hajj because one can’t afford it but is still gay no matter how hard they suppressed their sexuality?

    • Thank you for your comment. Obviously it was fully loaded, but ultimatley this is my answer. You said what if you believe in Allah and…..(you listed a number of things). I say that to my understanding, knowledge precede’s action, and in order to submit to the will of Allah which is what being Muslim means, you have to know Allah. Belief is fueled by certainty, which has been strengthened by things in your control and out. Some people have a spiritual experiences that are out of their control, whilst some go out of their way to find spiritual meaning to their life seeking knowledge. Either one fuels your belief, which is the first pillar of Islam.

      This leads me on to your second point, what if you pray or meditate in your own way. Again I say knowledge should precede action, but of course that takes time. And deeds are split into two, your intention and your action. If your action is incorrect due to lack of knowledge, then no sin can be upon you. But eventually your certainty of belief should lead to… now I know who my creator is, how can I show my gratitude to his mightyness. Allah has commanded the believer to pray a certain way, and Allah really knows best. When I looked into the science of prayer, it only humbled me to know I did something for my Lord as a selfless act of gratitude when in fact this act was a benefit to me also.

      Your third point, ‘what if you give charity’. Now interestingly enough you highlight a beautiful point about worship in Islam. Allah has created for the believer a variety of ways to worship. Some people pray more, some people fast more, some people give all their money in charity. Either way the reward is yours.

      As for the one who can’t fast Allah has stated a method in which the believer can provide food for someone else to fast who would otherwise been unable to because of no food. In doing so the believer gets the reward of the fast also like they fasted.

      With reference to hajj, as I said keep the intention and make dua.

      Finally supressing one’s desire, its the same for a hetrosexual who fornicates. You gotta try and hold it down, and if you can’t Repent and try again.

      Allah says remember me and i’ll remember you.
      Please do not let other people dictate your spiritual journey with Your Lord. Sorry bout the book reply, but you couldn’t have expected a short answer. May Allah aid you to be the best of believers and attain jannah Ameen

  2. “Finally supressing one’s desire, its the same for a hetrosexual who fornicates. You gotta try and hold it down, and if you can’t Repent and try again” Sometimes suppression can lead to severe bouts of depression, possible thoughts of suicide, anger, frustration, unhappiness and isolation, anxiety, and other negative thoughts or actions, substance misuse and abuse. It can also lead to heartache and pain and not being true to yourself. Supressing homosexuality is definitely not the same as a heterosexual who fornicates.

    • Firstly I hope I my post or reply has ot offended you in any way. Secondly I coupled suppressing homosexuality with a hetrosexual who fornicates because I believe they both require the worshiper to stay away from that which is displeasing to Allah. Therefore its about the worshiper knowing how to manage their desires. My post did not encourage one to suppress, the point I was trying to get at is, ‘Knowledge is power’. And it is the only thing in our control that we can increase ourselves in to aid us to restrain ourselves from that which we know is not pleasing to our Lord.

      Of course suppression leads to all that you mentioned above like depression, suicide and so and so but why. All of those things have one thing in common, they are manifestations of our inability to address our emotional void. Once we learn how to find a balance through a positive means, we can attain sprititual contentment.

      Therefore with all of the above in mind, I say do what you are capable of doing, ‘Allah does not burden a soul with more than he can bear’. I read a lil bit of your blog and see that you got raised by Muslim parent, (Correct me if i’m wrong). I also did, but that is not why i’m Muslim today. I went on the original journey to find spiritual peace within myself. Prior to being Muslim I was all about budism, and trust me, if you’d have told me i’d be covered from head to toe in a black gown 5 years ago, i’d have told you to get on your bike. My point is that if you’ve been exposed to parents who only had a cultural understanding of Islam, then i’d say take yourself on a journey to access the true understanding of Islam. Because it was only when I truly fell in Love with Allah that I seeeked every possible way to show my gratitude. And when hard times came, that Love in my heart made it difficult for me to abondon my prayer because I knew Islam is the truth. It is cleary the mismanagement of Islam today and peoples lack of understanding that gives us the filfth of attitudes we have today.

      Your blog about you being on the bus when a woman got verbal abused shows that you are beautiful soul. My motivation to write the post ‘Gay Muslims..’, was due to me realising that it was one of the most challenging subjects YES. However the truth behind it is Allah loves you whether you are Gay or an alcoholic, because you love Allah and clearly seek the truth. I hope you don’t mind the long replies, I feel it would be rude to give you a 1 liner. May Allah keep us both on the straight path that only leads to Jannah’, Ameen

      • Hi. Just want to say you didn’t offend me at all. I thank you for your eloquent reply and thought it would be good to have an open discussion as the majority of people who have faith whether it’s Islam, Christianity or other religious beliefs or faiths try to shy away from this subject matter.
        “the worshiper to stay away from that which is displeasing to Allah. Therefore its about the worshiper knowing how to manage their desires.”
        Sometimes it is not just about managing desires. Sometimes, as the old saying goes, you cannot help who you fall in love with. Love, being “in love” and the true meaning of Love, manifests itself in many ways. I read both the Koran and the Bible, searching for answers or Knowledge. It was after these in -depth readings that I realised I had to come to terms with being who I was or am. After all, if you can’t love yourself, then there may not be hope for others to love and respect you either.

        As long as you are pure and good (which maybe a rarity these days) in heart and mind, then maybe able to truly find peace, happiness and love for mankind.
        Once again, Thank You for being open and honest in your responses… and reading my blog.

    • send me a link for the blog first then I can comment, but I really think we are living in a cruel world that dictates how we should be, there is no sweeeter journey than embracing Islam urself, and building on a relationship that reflects what you need from your Lord who has given us 99 names for a reason, one of them to have a clear understanding of who we worship 🙂

Leave a Reply

