When someone better comes along.

Image

When someone better comes along.

Immediately when you look at my blog title, you may think its about someone in a relationship, married, and then someone better comes along, and what would they do?

But no today’s blog is in fact more about the journey of the self, and what you do when you find yourself surrounded by choices that reflect the old you.

It’s been nearly two years since I left my abusive marriage, and its bloody end left me having to do some serious self-reflecting. The journey of self-reflection is never an easy one, and facing up to my past meant I had to examine and accept responsibility for decisions I’d made in life at some point in order to move forward.

Fast forward and I find myself slowly adjusting to the surroundings that I never noticed creeping into my life. I was so focus on getting through my ruts that I never stopped to notice how much I left behind.

Someone better has emerged in my life and that is me. I love myself enough now to walk away from what I used to doubt I even deserved. And my secret, what got me through it all was the Ayat from the Quran, ‘Allah does not change the state of a people till they change themselves’.

Little did I know what would be beyond the horizon, but regardless I kept moving and working through the questions and solace my soul seeked. And at the end of it all it was worth it, all the tears and all the pain.

One response »

Leave a Reply

