Twerking added to the Oxford Dictionary!

Image

Twerking added to the Oxford Dictionary!

I tried my best not to react to this new craze, but how can I not. It’s everywhere, like its ok to dance in this manner. But before I begin, “What is Twerking”, one may ask.

“Twerking is a dance move that involves a person, usually a woman, shaking her hips in an up-and-down bouncing motion, causing the dancer to shake, “wobble” and “jiggle.”[1] According to the Oxford Dictionary Online to twerk is “to dance to popular music in a sexually provocative manner involving thrusting hip movements and a low, squatting stance”

It seems since Miley Cyrus decided to…Twerk on Robin Thicke, its been everywhere. And whether I like it or not I’ve had to have a discussion about it with my son who came across a bunch of men doing the dance on Vine videos.

It is is really upsetting to see that things have come to this! And the scary thing, is young girls and boys are quick to copy this promiscuous behaviour.

And lets us quickly reflect on some of the lyrics Miley Cyrus was getting excited about whilst ‘Twerking’ on Robin Thicke’s song.

“Not many women can refuse this pimpin’
I’m a nice guy, but don’t get it if you get with me

[Bridge: Robin Thicke]
Shake the vibe, get down, get up
Do it like it hurt, like it hurt
What you don’t like work?”

The attitudes and beliefs of this industry of music is robbing the children of their innocence. Don’t let your children be one of them!

I could say more but I rest my case!

Leave a Reply

