Emotional Blackmail and Pakistani Drama’s

Image

Emotional Blackmail and Pakistani Drama's

I sit there and I just don’t get it. Apparently I’m meant to get it cause I am a Pakistani, but no matter how hard I try, nothing about them reels me in. And just so you don’t waste your time, I’m talking about PAKISTANI DRAMA’S.

There I’ve said it, yes today’s blog is about Pakistani drama’s so if it ain’t your thing, then you have permission to leave and find your type of blog to chew on. But for those that are intrigued, I’m about to lift the lid on something that has had me ‘done over’ for years.

They are very slow, and the plots in them are amazingly… (I’m stuck for words) out of this world. And then there is the acting, which can only be described as a bunch of monologue’s one after the other, that give us insight into the plots, emotions and dark worlds of each of the characters.

Now you may come across one of these scenes in your very own front room, where all of a sudden a whole film crew appears out of no where, with well written scripts.

If you are still with me then you know exactly what I’m talking about. You’ve met them and often ask yourself if you had a piece of your childhood stolen? As for some reason you either feel the urge to burst out laughing at their performance or check into the ‘Betty Ford Clinic’ while everyone else convinces you of crimes that appear out of no where.

After much contemplation, deliberation and estimation (third word makes no sense just rhymed lol), I came to the conclusion that this phenomenon always happens to one particular family member due to a clash of attitudes and beliefs.

Being thirty something and having parents that came into this country around the 1950’s means that your identities are now an accumulation of British, Non-Religious/Religious/ethnic attitudes and beliefs.

And while your parents and a very large group of family members, and there are loads of them due to the average number of children to one women being five, float in a world of culture and drama kept afloat by the help of these dramas! Your own culture manifests into something or someone they no longer relate to or can identify with.

I wrote this blog due to a number of emails I received from Pakistani young female’s distraught by their families inabilities to acknowledge or understand their wants and desires. It took me while but here is my conclusion.

Unfortunately due to lack of compassion on the families part, the black sheep is often suffocated with the expectations and limitations imposed on them by a group of people who they are told should value and respect them for who they are. However when this doesn’t happen, the self is forced to retreat to a place of contemplation to figure out if it is their families in need of help or themselves.

Rest assured, the only one guilty is the one that fails to educate the other about what is best because them love them and not themselves.

Leave a Reply

