Where will you be, what will you be doing when its your turn?

Image

Where will you be, what will you be doing when its your turn?

Standing outside of the bedroom door I froze. I could hear his mom sobbing and speaking to people consoling her. I stood outside of his room, tempted to push the door open with only one thing on my mind. What did his room look like?

I chickened out and went down stairs, full of admiration for any that chose to sit there. I saw his brother and dad. “Don’t cry Shalina, don’t cry”! But no sooner did my eyes fall on them I grabbed them and we sobbed on one another’s shoulders.

It was only 10 years earlier that we had been at the same house mourning the death of his sister. She died at the tender age of 24 years old. Things had never quite been the same since. I am very saddened to see two of my cousins die at an age we never anticipated.

May Allah Forgive them for their sins and grant them Jannah alongside my father, Ameen

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji’un
“Surely we belong to Allah and to Him shall we return”

One response »

Leave a Reply

